Professor Tovino Wins Top Tier Award

Monday, May 20, 2019

Stacey Tovino, the Judge Jack and Lulu Lehman Professor of Law at Boyd School of Law and the Founding Director of the UNLV Health Law Program, received the Top Tier Award from UNLV President Marta Meana on April 29, 2019. The Top Tier Award recognizes faculty members who demonstrate excellence in all five areas of UNLV’s Top Tier Mission, including research and external funding, teaching excellence and student achievement, academic health center growth, infrastructure and shared governance, and community partnerships. Professor Tovino is an engaged scholar whose recent law review articles have placed in Alabama Law Review, Iowa Law Review, Minnesota Law Review, Notre Dame Law Review, Washington Law Review, and Washington and Lee Law Review, among other general and specialty journals. Professor Tovino is a current research team member on grants relating to data privacy and grateful patient fundraising, sponsored by the National Institutes of Health and the Greenwall Foundation, respectively.

An enthusiastic teacher, Professor Tovino has won professor-of-the-year awards in five of the last ten years and has helped place students in a variety of academic, government, industry, and non-profit positions. Professor Tovino built the Health Law Concentration, the first curricular concentration available to students at Boyd School of Law, and forged a number of curricular and research ties between Boyd School of Law and other health professional schools across Nevada. Within the legal academy, Professor Tovino has chaired two Association of American Law Schools (AALS) Sections, including Mental Disability and the Law and Torts and Compensation Systems. In addition, she currently serves as Panel Chair for the AALS Section on Law and the Humanities and Executive Committee Member of the AALS Section on Law, Medicine, and Health Care. Within the bioethics academy, Professor Tovino serves on the Planning Committee for the annual meeting of the American Society for Bioethics and Humanities (ASBH).