From Dean Sara - September 3, 2021

Wednesday, September 8, 2021
Dean Sara Gordon

One of the things that I enjoy most as a professor and now as Dean is learning about the many successes of our Boyd alums. There are now more than 2,500 Boyd alumnae serving their communities in Nevada and throughout the country and this week, I would like to congratulate the following Boyd alums on their recent accomplishments:

  • Jennifer Durcan Andrews ('02) was recently appointed to the Pierce County Superior Court by Washington Governor Jay Inslee
  • Paola Armeni ('03) was sworn-in as President-Elect to the Nevada State Bar Board of Governors
  • Yvanna Cancela (’20) was named Chief of Staff for Nevada Governor Steve Sisolak
  • Marisa Rodriguez ('13) was sworn-in as a board member for the Nevada State Bar Board of Governors

Our alums are an incredible group of individuals who are as dedicated to their law school as they are to their community. If you would like to provide additional support to our law students, please consider supporting one of our UNLV Boyd Law Alumni Chapter scholarship initiatives:

The Alumni Association's Annual Golf Tournament is the main source of funding for the Alumni Association’s Endowed Scholarship, which helps law students cover expenses from books to tuition. Your sponsorship or registration in the tournament will help ensure the continued success of this important scholarship. Register or donate today by clicking here.
Few individuals have played a more significant role in the success of both the law school and our students than Dean Frank D. Durand and I am so pleased that the Alumni Chapter has created a scholarship in his honor. The FDD Scholarship helps support first-generation law students who are active in promoting community and inclusiveness at Boyd and in the community. Please consider donating by clicking here.

Recent Issues

December 3, 2021 - Dawn Nielsen, Madeleine Coles, Daniel Maloney LL.M. '20
November 23, 2021 - Sydney Lisy, Emma "Brooke" Harrison, Michael Higdon '01
November 12, 2021 - David McClure, Austin Dykstra, Nicole Bastos '20
November 5, 2021 - Kristin Gerdy Kyle, Candace Mays, Judge Jasmin Lilly-Spells '09
October 22, 2021 - The Honorable Mike Nakagawa, Jeremy DeLong, Cristian Gonzalez Perez '21