The Frank A. Schreck Gaming Law Moot Court Competition is hosted by the William S. Boyd School of Law's Society of Advocates Moot Court Competition Team, and the UNLV Gaming Law Journal. The William S. Boyd School of Law boasts the #1 Legal Writing program in the country, as ranked by US News & World Report. The 2020 Frank A. Schreck Gaming Law Moot Court Competition will be held March 6-8, 2020.

The Competition focuses on emerging issues at the intersection of gaming law and regulation. Competitors will hone their appellate advocacy skills before prominent jurists and practitioners in the gaming capital of the world: Las Vegas, Nevada!

Registration Information

Registration will open on Monday, September 23, 2019. The early bird registration deadline is Monday, October 21, 2019. The regular registration deadline is Friday, December 9, 2019. Registration for the competition will close on the registration deadline, or once there are 28 registered teams, whichever is sooner. Please check this page periodically for registration details and competition updates. The pricing for early-bird registration will be $500 for one team and $900 for two teams. The pricing for regular registration will be $550 for one team and $1100 for two teams. More information can be found on the 2020 Competition Flyer.

Registration is closed.

Competition Information

2020 Frank A. Schreck Gaming Law Moot Court Competition problem
(released on December 16, 2019)

View the 2020 Rules (as amended).

The competitors' briefs will be due in electronic format to schreckmcc@law.unlv.edu no later than 11:59 PM PST on FridayJanuary 31, 2020. All required hard copies must be post-marked no later than FridayJanuary 31, 2020.

Teams should plan to arrive and check-in at 5:30 pm PST on Friday, March 6, 2020.

View the 2020 Competition Schedule.

Competitors' Briefs

Access the 2020 Competitors' briefs.

The Boyd School of Law Extends Its Sincerest Gratitude to the 2020 Competition Sponsors

  • Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck
  • State Bar of Nevada - Gaming Law Section

Contact Information

For further questions regarding the Frank A. Schreck Gaming Law Moot Court Competition, please contact the 2020 Gaming Law Competition Co-chairs, Ryan McConnell and Arthur Burns, at schreckmcc@law.unlv.edu

About Frank A. Schreck

Frank A. Schreck is the namesake of the William S. Boyd School of Law’s Gaming Law Moot Court Competition. Mr. Schreck is chair of the Gaming Law Group at Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP. For more than 40 years, Mr. Schreck has played an important role in shaping the realm of gaming law.

Mr. Schreck has represented many of the premier public and private gaming companies (including Wynn Resorts, Caesars Entertainment, Station Casinos, Pinnacle Entertainment, Penn National Gaming, Scientific Games Corporation, and William Hill PLC); private equity firms (including Apollo Global Management, TPG, Blackstone Real Estate Advisors, and Leonard Green & Partners), as well as large financial institutions that became involved in the ownership of casino properties (including Goldman Sachs, Deutsche Bank, and Credit Suisse).

Not only has Mr. Schreck represented his client’s gaming interests in Nevada, he has also been a pioneer in the licensing of companies involved in multi-jurisdictional transactions, including the purchase of Harrah’s Entertainment by Apollo Global Management and TPG. Mr. Schreck has also participated in gaming-related matters in such foreign jurisdictions as Japan, Macau, Puerto Rico, Spain, and Great Britain.

At age 27, Mr. Schreck was the youngest individual, by far, to be appointed as a member of the Nevada Gaming Commission. He has also served as President of the International Association of Gaming Attorneys (“IAGA”) and was the Chairman of its Fourth Annual Conference in Vienna, Austria.

We are proud to honor Mr. Schreck by naming the Gaming Law Moot Court Competition after him.

Competition Results

Congratulations to our First Place team of Emily Kaplan and Matthew Peterson from NYU School of Law, and to our Second Place team of Allison Hose and Frank Bumb from the Ohio State University Moritz College of Law.

View a list of our 2020 competing schools.

Past Competitions