Boyd Briefs - April 21, 2017

Show Email Edition

From Dean Dan - April 21, 2017

Dean Dan Hamilton This week, we held our annual awards dinner to recognize the contributions of the Nevada Law Journal , the UNLV Gaming Law Journal , and the Society of Advocates (SOA). Our students, faculty and alumni joined together to celebrate another successful academic year and to recognize the achievements...

Faculty Spotlight: Linda Berger

Linda Berger Linda L. Berger is the Family Foundation Professor of Law and has recently completed a term as Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Research at Boyd. She is also the Immediate Past President of the Legal Writing Institute and a nationally recognized leader in legal rhetoric and writing. What...

Student Spotlight: Marckia Hayes

Marckia Hayes You were an extern for United States District Court Judge Richard Boulware. What was your takeaway from that experience? My experience externing for Judge Richard Boulware was probably one of the most challenging and rewarding experiences during my law school career. Judge Boulware provides an...

Alumni Spotlight: Edgar Flores '12

Edgar Flores '12 Nevada State Assemblyman, District 28 When you were a child, what did you want to be? Like many children born to immigrant parents, I translated as they struggled with English. While still very young, I participated in very grown-up conversations. Everything from explaining leases to negotiating...

Community Member Spotlight: Yvanna Cancela

Yvanna Cancela Nevada State Senator, District 10, Member of the Thomas & Mack Legal Clinic Advisory Board at the Boyd School of Law You are the first Latina in the Nevada State Senate. Can you talk to us a little about that? It’s an honor to be the first Latina in the State Senate, and I know I won...

Recent Issues

December 8, 2017 - Ian C. Bartrum, Jennifer Yee, and Elizabeth Naccarato '07
November 30, 2017 - Professor John Valery White, Jessica Story and Edward Wynder '15
November 17, 2017 - Joan Howarth, Athena Eliades, and Marissa R. Temple '04
November 9, 2017 - Peter Brandon Bayer, Racheal Ross, and Dawn N. Gearhart '07
November 2, 2017 - Francine J. Lipman, Michael Linton, and Leah Martin '02