From Dean Dan - April 20, 2018

Friday, April 20, 2018
Dean Dan Hamilton

On Monday, April 23 the law school is pleased to host two terrific events. First, we are delighted to welcome California Supreme Court Justice Goodwin Liu who will deliver the annual Judge Lloyd D. George Lecture on the Judicial Process. Justice Liu joined the bench after a distinguished career in private practice and as a law professor at UC Berkeley. Justice Liu will engage in a conversation with Professor Anne Traum, Director of the Appellate Clinic at the law school, and topics will include: the judicial response to new challenges from the executive branch, issues around sentencing and incarceration, the role of specialty courts, the unique challenges around appellate judging, elected versus vs appointed judges, and the federal appointment process. This talk honors Judge Lloyd George, a long-time Nevada federal judge and mentor to generations of law students and fellow judges. Follow this link to register. 

That evening, the Society of Advocates together with the Clark County Bar Association (CCBA) will host the final round of Boyd/CCBA Moot Court Competition. The final round will be judged by Justice Liu, Justice Kristina Pickering of the Nevada Supreme Court, and Judge Andrew Gordon of the U.S. District Court for the District of Nevada. This event will be at 4:30 pm in the Thomas & Mack Moot Courtroom. Come cheer on our students!

Our Saltman Center for Conflict Resolution is now accepting applications for its 2018 Summer Institute in Dispute Resolution. This year's program includes Dispute System Design, Mediation Essentials, Mediation Representation and Negotiation. These intensive short courses are taught by leading experts in the field of ADR, and classes are geared to give law or graduate students, attorneys, and other professionals the chance to earn academic credits or Nevada CLE credit. Learn more here.

Dean & Richard J. Morgan Professor of Law

Recent Issues

April 8, 2022 - Justin Iverson, Travis Studdard, Christian Ogata '20
March 11, 2022 - Francine J. Lipman, Joseph Waldman, Erica Adler JD '20 LL.M. '21
February 25, 2022 - Frank Rudy Cooper, Jean-Lionel Mesidor, Pedro Cortes '21
January 28, 2022 - Lori Johnson, Daniel Weiss, Joshua Pettigrew '19
December 3, 2021 - Dawn Nielsen, Madeleine Coles, Daniel Maloney LL.M. '20