American Constitution Society for Law and Policy (ACS)

Our Mission

The American Constitution Society for Law and Policy (ACS) promotes the vitality of the U.S. Constitution and the fundamental values it expresses: individual rights and liberties, genuine equality, access to justice, democracy, and the rule of law. These abiding principles are reflected in the vision of the Constitution’s framers and the wisdom of forward-looking leaders who have shaped our law throughout American history. As a result of their efforts, the Constitution has retained its authority and relevance for each new generation. In recent years, an activist conservative legal movement has gained influence–eroding these enduring values, treating the Constitution as frozen in history, and presenting the law as a series of sterile abstractions. This new orthodoxy, which threatens to dominate our courts and our laws, does a grave injustice to the American vision. The American Constitution Society embraces the progress our nation has made toward full embodiment of the Constitution’s core values. ACS believes that law can and should be a force for improving the lives of all people. We are revitalizing and transforming legal and policy debates in classrooms, courtrooms, legislatures and the media, and we are building a diverse and dynamic network of progressives committed to justice. Through these efforts, ACS will ensure that the institutions of American law reflect the highest values of our nation and serve the needs of its people.

Executive Board
President Christian Ogata
Email ogatac1@unlv.nevada.edu
Vice President Aspen Smith
Email smithj51@unlv.nevada.edu
Secretary Timothy Lane
Email lanet1@unlv.nevada.edu
Treasurer Danielle Dumire
Email dumire@unlv.nevada.edu
Community Service Director Edgar Cervantes
Email cervan10@unlv.nevada.edu
Events Director Amanda Stafford
Email staffa1@unlv.nevada.edu
Diversity Director Shaneka Malloyd
Email malloyds@unlv.nevada.edu
Social Media Director Elva Castaneda
Email castae1@unlv.nevada.edu
Internal Affairs Director Margaret Manning
Email mannim4@unlv.nevada.edu
Advisor Prof. Ruben Garcia
Email ruben.garcia@unlv.edu